Annual Student Awards Day Held at JPAC

Dr. Brown Speaks at Awards Day.On April 25, 2023, Louisburg College held its annual Awards Day at the Jones Performing Arts Center.

Students who were nominated and selected by faculty and staff at the college were given awards. These awards included: Outstanding Student Ambassadors, the Alumni Appreciation Scholarship, Outstanding Student Athletes, the Malone Award, and more. 

Students and staff came to celebrate all of the award winners. Chaplain Amanda Bunce started the ceremony with a scripture reading and prayer. Louisburg College President Dr. Gary Brown gave the closing remarks for the event.

Awarded students included:

Admissions, Dr. Christopher Withers

  • Outstanding Student Ambassadors - Jacob Chacon-Martinez and Caysey Colant

Alumni Association, Mrs. Alitha Palich 

  • Alumni Appreciation Scholarship Award - Felicia Bunch

Athletics, Mr. Michael Holloman

  • Outstanding Student Athlete (Male) - Ty Lawrence (Football)
  • Outstanding Student Athlete (Female) - Kathryn Robinson (Women's Soccer)

Business Studies & Social Studies, Mr. Brian Sanders

  • Robert A. Butler Social and Behavioral Sciences Award - Joseph Coats

Humanities, Ms. Heather Harris & Mr. William Hinton

  • Malone Award - Carly Hannah
  • Dorothy H. Sampson Writing Award - Mara Cavazos
  • Art Award - Jacob Chacon-Martinez

Science, Biology & Mathematics, Dr. Owen S. Bunnell & Dr. Diane Cook

  • Dr. Owen S. Bunnell Award - Evan Suarez
  • Peter A. Carlton Award in Biology - Sofia Faatiliga
  • Felton R. Nease Award in Biology - Taylor McQueen
  • Grady K. Snyder Mathematics Award - Timothy Robinson
  • James H. Brown Mathematics Award - Morgan Orenduff and Baylee Smith

Student Life, Rev. Amanda Bunce

  • Chaplain's Service Award - Felicia Bunch
  • Cortland V. Smith Service Award - Tyler Quinn


New Phi Theta Kappa InducteesAwards day also included the induction of 29 new members of Phi Theta Kappa - an honor society at Louisburg College. Each new member was announce by Mrs. Katie Bolling. Inductees wrote their names in the pledge book before they were awarded with their PTK golden sashes. The Spring 2023 inductees are as follows:

  • Sebastian Agerschou
  • Felicia Bunch
  • Camden Bunker
  • Jasalyn Burton
  • Kennedy Byrd
  • Jaxson Croom
  • Iona Davis
  • Tabitha Egan
  • Sofia Faatiliga
  • Fred Foreman 
  • Shane Garrett
  • Emily Gilliam
  • Joseph Grezmak
  • Maci Hawkins
  • Alexandra Hilbert
  • Jaxen Mashburn
  • Price Massey
  • Taylor McQueen
  • Darrah Nickens
  • Raul Nunez III
  • Morgan Orenduff
  • Avalon Perry
  • Luigi Piccoli
  • Tyler Quinn
  • Jake Roberti
  • Mikah Seals
  • Matthew Shannon
  • Baylee Smith
  • Zyaire Williams

(Not pictured above: Morgan Orenduff, Maci Hawkins, Avalon Perry [new members], Dessa Houston, Alfredo Hernandez-Contreras, and Joshua Aaron [returning members].)


For more photos from the occassion, visit here.