Home Icon Awards Day

Student Achievement Honored During Louisburg College Awards Day

April 14, 2016

Louisburg College celebrated student success during the annual Awards Day ceremony, held Tuesday, April 12 in the Jones Performing Arts Center (JPAC) on campus. Thirty-four students were recognized for their accomplishments in all aspects of campus life, including academics, leadership, the arts and athletics.

One of the highlights of Awards Day is the presentation of the Bessie Arrington Gupton Distinguished Service Award to a student, faculty or staff member for outstanding and extraordinary service to the College. Student winners this year were Amahni Ogbonnaya and Jeremiagh Campbell, while Coordinator of Student Engagement Stephanie Haskell was the staff recipient. Bessie Arrington Gupton was a member of the Louisburg College Class of 1908, and the award was established by her sons, Samuel and Willis Gupton, both 1942 graduates.

A complete list of Awards Day winners appears below:

Phi Beta Lambda Award (most outstanding business fraternity member): Kiante Brewer, Damonta Wimbush
Art Award: Heather Taylor
Music Award: Javier Parker
Theatre Award: Michael Cook, Tacoasha Spencer
Sidney Stafford Award (intellectual achievement in studies, particularly religion/philosophy): Jeremiagh Campbell

Malone Award (excellence in English): Henry Niblock
Speech Communication Award: Nancy Barker
Dorothy H. Sampson Creative Writing Award: Dylan Ford
Spanish Award: Dara Johnson
Bunnell Award (excellence in science): Natalie Manning

Chemistry Award: Ivan Cockman
Carlton Award in Biology: Luciana Perez-Flores
Felton Nease Award (freshman excellence in biology): Beau Wiley
Non-Major Award: Conner Saunders
James H. Brown Award (highest average in two freshman math courses): Julian Cox, Phoenix Spivey

Grady Snyder Award (outstanding effort in mathematics): Imani Stubbs
Outstanding Female Athlete: Abigail Ross (women’s soccer)
Outstanding Male Athlete: Max Blackmore (men’s soccer)
Freshman Ambassador Awards: Phoenix Spivey, Parker Roberts
Sophomore Ambassador Awards: Maria Quintero, Theis Bagnkop

Robert Butler Social and Behavioral Sciences Award: Ashlyn Jackson
David Whitman Shearin Scholarship Award (outstanding freshman business student): Mark Taylor
Chaplain Service Award: Julius Shumpert
Cortland V. Smith Award (service to the College and student body): Jimmy Yokel
Student Government Association Award: John Cole

Sportsmanship Award: John Kitoko
Hurricane Productions Award: Gerard Wilder

Julian Cox receives the math award

Dr. Martha Bragg presents the James H. Brown Award for mathematics to Julian Cox

Mariah Quintero receives the Student Ambassador award

Ms. Stephanie Tolbert presents the Most Outstanding Student Ambassador - Female Sophomore Award to Mariah Quintero