Home Icon Sigma Alpha Pi

Students Inducted into Sigma Alpha Pi

May 2, 2017

Students Inducted into Sigma Alpha Pi

Thirty-seven Louisburg College students were inducted Monday into the National Society of Leadership and Success, the largest leadership honor society in the United States.

Sigma Alpha Pi membership signifies students have completed training, set goals and served in leadership roles. They have exemplified integrity, compassion, purpose, a positive attitude and motivation, said Laurie Neff, dean of students and one of the organization's sponsors.

The induction ceremony also honored staff and faculty who have shown leadership and helped students grow. Honorary membership was awarded to Stephanie Tolbert, senior vice president for enrollment management, and Emily Zank, dean of faculty development and student support services. Dr. Kelvin Spragley, associate professor of business and education; Candy Jones, professor of English and director of the Taylor Honors Program; and Tammy Evans, instructor of English and interim director of the Writing Center, were honored with Excellence in Teaching awards.

Stephanie Haskell, director of student engagement; Katy Weilbrenner, coordinator of student engagement; and Daniel Varela, assistant director of admissions, were given Excellence in Service awards.

Seven students -- Donte McRae, Terron Piedra, Ashley Damron, Tiponya Sanderlin, Taj Ates, Calierya McLaughlin and Dajah Denis -- won Local Chapter Awards.

Inducted into Sigma Alpha Pi were:
Amber Locket
Anthony Persina. Jr.
Ashley Damron
Bruce Knox
Calierya McLaughlin
Charles Cameron Knight
Dajah Denis
Derius Woods
Donte McRae
Ethan Meece
Hannah Six
Isaac Deshield
Jamila Jacobs
Jazmaine Mayo
Jibriah Woodberry
Joseph Watkins
Ju'Measha Rollins
Juana Zapata
Kayonna Mitchell
Latajah Jones
Lisa Pearce
Makaylia McIver
Ryan Pringle
Sara Evansek
Sarah Watkins
Kenneth Seth Gray
Sloane Tittle-Williams
Stephany Sislava
Taj Ates
Taliah Adams
Terron Piedra
Tiponya Sanderlin
Torin Gardner
Trenton Thompson
Victoria Buck
Zacchaeus Rasberry
Zachariah Devon

Taj Ates

Freshman Taj Ates shares his success story. Taj won a local chapter award and is a chapter leader for 2017-18.

Dajah Denis

Sophomore Dajah Denis also won a local chapter award.