Sigma Kappa Delta Installs Six New Members

Sigma Kappa Delta

Tommy Jenkins, Samantha Calvery, Cristal Figueroa, Kelsey Harris, Jocelyn Jaimes, Kenia Roa, Timyra Staton, and President La Branche.

Sigma Kappa Delta, the national English Honors Society for two-year colleges, inducted six students this week into the honors fraternity's Rho Epsilon chapter at a ceremony held at Benson Chapel. Founded in 1996 at Cottey College, Sigma Kappa Delta is currently located at Calhoun Community College. The society strives to:

  • Confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate studies;
  • Provide, through its local chapters, cultural stimulation on college campuses and promote interest in literature and the English language in surrounding communities;
  • Foster all aspects of the discipline of English, including literature, language, and writing;
  • Promote exemplary character and good fellowship among its members;
  • Exhibit high standards of academic excellence; and serve society by fostering literacy.

With over 100 active chapters located in the United States, approximately 2500 members are inducted annually. Sigma Kappa Delta's central purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature in undergraduate studies. We are proud of our Louisburg inductees, and look forward to celebrating their continued success.