Home Icon Phi Theta Kappa

Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa

April 4, 2017

PTK Induction

Louisburg College inducted 40 students into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society in a ceremony Monday evening recognizing academic achievement.

As names were called, each student stepped up to receive a gold stole from PTK Advisor Candace Jones, then signed the Gamma Upsilon Chapter Record Book and lit a candle, a symbol of the torch of knowledge.

Family, faculty and staff crowded into Benson Chapel to watch the induction. The 40 new members join 21 classmates who were previously inducted into PTK. To be invited into the honor society, students must have at least a 3.5 grade-point average and have completed at least 12 hours of coursework.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education. Louisburg College, established in 1787, is the oldest private two-year college in the nation. Related by faith to the United Methodist Church, the College is committed to offering a supportive community which nurtures young men and women intellectually, culturally, socially, physically and spiritually.

Students inducted to PTK in Spring 2017:

Kimberly Ange
Jesslyn Bader
​​Andrew Baldwin
​​​​​​ Emily Best
Matthew Betts
Bobbie Briggs
Myles Brown
Victoria Buck
Stephen Cherry
Jamie Clark
Jack Corkins
Justin Freeman
Geydi Gonzales
Michaela Greene
Luke Haines
Gabriella Hilliard
Haley Hutchins
Jermaine Jones
Suzanna Lee
Telicia Leonard
Bowen Lester
Johnathon Maue
Brian O’Neil
Jason Parker
Lisa Pearce
Monica Pepe
Teddy Pierce
Alyssa Pickens
Zacchaeus Rasberry
Matthew Rice
Alejandro Rivera-Quintero
Rachel Rusch
Omar Salem
Julius Shumpert
Giovanni Solis
Blake Stewart
Katherine Stokely
Imani Stubbs
Jacob Willis
Rachel Wittkofsky

PTK Induction
PTK Induction