Home Icon Business Students

Louisburg College Business Students Excel During Statewide Competition

April 21, 2016

Louisburg College business students were recognized for their effective, successful presentations during the 62nd annual North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda State Leadership Conference, held April 7-9 in Charlotte. A total of 10 students participated in the conference, which includes competitions among students from North Carolina colleges and universities in topics such as business ethics, macroeconomics, public speaking and more.

“We had a very successful conference, and we’re proud of our students not only for their hard work to prepare for their competitions, but also for the way they carried themselves throughout the conference,” says Brian Sanders, assistant professor of business studies and sponsor of the College’s Phi Beta Lambda chapter. “Our students distinguished themselves in competition with some of the best business students from four-year colleges and universities.”

Phi Beta Lambda is the oldest and largest student organization in the world. It brings business and education together to provide training and networking for students who are pursuing careers in a variety of business-related fields.

Louisburg’s student winners from the competition are listed below:

First Place-Emerging Business Issues: Dajah Denis and Koran Hodges

Second Place-Business Ethics: Damonta Winbush and Kiante Brewer

Second Place-Social Media Campaign: Kathryn O’Leary

Second Place-Client Services: John Cole

Third Place-Client Services: Jordan Harbison

Third Place-Business Sustainability: Kiante Brewer and Jordan Harbison

Third Place-Entrepreneurship Concepts: Kathryn O’Leary

Fourth Place-Personal Finance: Tyler Miller

Fifth Place-Impromptu Speaking: John Cole

Sixth Place-Public Speaking: Amahni Ogbonnaya

Seventh Place-Impromptu Speaking: Amahni Ogbonnaya

Seventh Place-Job Interview: Alyssa Pickens

Eight Place-Macroeconomics: Dajah Denis

Dajah Denis and Koran Hodges

Dajah Denis and Koran Hodges

Business Leaders 2016