Home Icon Leadership Contests

LC Students Win State Business Leadership Contests

April 10, 2017

Business Leadership Contest Participants

(Left to Right) Koran Hodges; Brian Sanders, adviser; Seth Gray; Dajah Denis; Kathryn O'Leary; Karen Sislava; Scott Benrube, adviser; Telicia Leonard. Front: Alyssa Pickens (Not pictured: Derius Woods)

Louisburg College’s student business leaders have won first place in two categories and second place in two others in North Carolina’s Phi Beta Lambda Leadership Conference. Those awards qualify four students to participate in the National Leadership Competition in Anaheim, Calif., in June.

A Louisburg College team -- Kathryn O’Leary of Franklinton and Dajah Denis of Durham -- placed first in the Social Media category in the state conference last weekend in Charlotte. O’Leary also earned second place in the Job Interview category. Koran Hodges of Raleigh placed first in the Financial Concepts category, and Karen Sislava of Matthews, N.C., won second place in Emerging Business Issues.

They competed in several events against business fraternity members from other two- and four-year institutions across North Carolina, including Wake Forest University, Barton College, Appalachian State University, and Pfeiffer University.

Denis placed third in Microeconomics, a very competitive field, and Alyssa Pickens placed fifth in Impromptu Speaking, another highly competitive field.

Three of the four who qualified for the national competition last week earned high honors at the national competition last year: O’Leary, then a freshman, earned national first place honors in Social Media Challenge. Denis and Hodges, both freshmen at the time, earned first place in Emerging Business Issues.

Brian Sanders, one of the group’s advisers, said he was so proud of the team, particularly the second-year students. “The focus, practice, and diligent preparation that I saw this year was really on another level,” he said. “It was inspiring for some of our first-year competitors, as well. This leaves me encouraged for next year’s team.”